Forum on the Internet of Things: Smarter Living in the Caribbean

On April 24, I had the opportunity to be a panelist, presenting a project I built for my MSc final submission.

This was at the ITU’s Forum on IoT, held at the Trinidad and Tobago Parliament building.

My solution that demonstrated the use of RFID for collecting traffic data and using cloud computing to process and communicate that data.

While preparing the presentation I was asked to explore what elements may need to exist to create an “An Enabling Ecosystem for IoT use and monetisation”.

It was such a good opportunity to explore this idea. In researching that very thing, I found, “Understanding business ecosystem using a 6C framework in Internet-of-Things-based sectors”. A great paper that helped me contextualize the work I did, along with the challenges and opportunities that came after.

The actual presentation can be found here.

Beyond​ just presenting, the forum proved a good place to meet up real practitioners. From Fasove and their boat monitoring device, to Ancel Bhagwandeen and the work he’s done with restoring automobile batteries, to the recently-graduated University students making waves with company after company.

Some good connections were made and I look forward to following up with them soon.

Leave a Reply

