Time For Water: The bot edition.

Back in 2013, I built a small site that took some data that the Water and Sewage Authority released (@wasatnt on Twitter) and remixed it, to make it easier to consume.

Recently, @wasatnt released a document detailing the current distribution schedule in this dry season, 2017.  It’s a PDF doc, listing the data for all regions in Trinidad and Tobago. Hundreds of rows, I discovered.

It seemed  like a good idea to build a simple bot to provide information about service at a particular area. So, I did. Listed below are some  of the steps it took from prepping the data to working prototype.

  • Get the data
    • It’s a PDF, so this means downloading and then converting.
    • I converted using https://smallpdf.com/pdf-to-excel
  • Clean the data
    • Small PDF gave me an excel workbook with 15 worksheets
    • All the worksheets contained merged cells, so I un-merged them.
    • Delete unnecessary columns
    • Then, I duplicated the row data so that every row could stand on it’s own. That’s important for the look-ups I’ll do later on.
  • Convert the data
  • Finally, I was able to build a bot, Time For Water, that would respond to messages with look-ups of the data in the original schedule.
Leave a Reply

